Print Exposé

Austin Healey 100/6 with 289 c.i. Ford V8 Performance Engine//5-Speed Gearbox

Couldn’t Carroll Shelby have come up with an Austin Healey in his search for a light, English chassis to implement his idea of planting a powerful V8 engine in just that? Anyone who has read the book “Inside Shelby” or “Nasty Boys” hardly needs to stretch his imagination. If the then best-selling Austin Healey or the freshly launched MGB had not sold like hot cakes in the USA, if Shelby had not negotiated very special purchasing conditions with the struggling manufacturer AC and thus chosen the rolling chassis of the AC Ace, would today – 59 years after the presentation of the first AC Cobra 289 and the associated creation of the legend of this probably unique automobile – the popular “Cobra” perhaps have looked very different? Maybe even like or similar to this Austin Healey we present to you here.

Engine
E-Street Cylinder Heads, Flat Tappet Performer Plus Camshaft Kit, Hardened Pushrods, Performer-Link Timing Set, Head Bolt Kit, Double Camshaft Driving Train, Edelbrock Performer Carburetor 4 Compartment with E Joke, Performer Air Filter, Contactless Ignition System with Racing Plugs and High End Ignition Wires, Master Blaster 2 Ignition Coil, Aluminum Valve Cover for Adjustable Pushrods, Racing Thermostat, High Performance Aluminum Radiator. Alternator with higher power, adapted electrical system with Spal E-fan automatic and manual. Modified and adapted exhaust with custom fan headers and stainless steel pots Big Bore re/li. Power is listed as 321 hp, which we believe untested on a dyno. Displacement, chassis, conversion, Vmax etc. are TÜV approved.

Transmission
Borg Warner T5 5 speed manual transmission with hydraulic clutch and special bell. Single reservoir for hydraulic clutch. Modified short ratio max speed 195km/h but this gives extremely good acceleration. The gearbox is filled with high performance oil and is therefore also designed for greater power. Complete overhaul in 12/2018
Chassis
Complete conversion to Bilstein telescopic dampers (Putzke ́s driving fun)rear with racing springs from Denis Welsh with additional longitudinal struts and Unibal joints additional Stabi with modified bushings. Front large adjustable Stabi with racing springs 180Kg, lowering.
Brakes
Single reservoir for brake circuit with brake booster, front disc brakes with Pagid brake pads and steel flex lines, rear alloy brake drums with cooling fins and steel flex lines, brake force control valve in engine compartment. Racing brake fluid.
Rims and tires
Spoked rims 5.5 X 15 black chromed with 205/65 R15 H and central locking spare wheel in the trunk.
Tank
Denis Welsh Racing Tank Works 80/85 liters with matching gauge and reserve warning. Improved range compared to the 50Liter original tank, no additional consumption compared to the inline six cylinder.
Dual fuel pumps individually switchable with backflow protection and dash connections.
The tank has two extractions and a built-in catchtank all made of aluminum. Trunk completely lined in aluminum with built in emergency stop.
Body
Completely overhauled with needed modifications due to engine rebuild, frame treated with Mike Sanders for years and in very good condition. Repainted and partially restored at classic car store with many new parts and improvements. Overhauled and improved electrical system. Plug-in windows and soft top in black.
Overall result
A probably unique Austin Healey in original and unmistakable optics, which is light years better to drive than the series model 100/6 by reasonable changes of its original. For someone who wants to drive a unique Big Healey with perfect optics, with convincing driving performance and the unmistakable sound of a sporty V8, this Healey is probably a rarely applicable stroke of luck to be available at all.
By the way, this vehicle is also no problem for women!
Due to the overhauled steering the brake booster and the short shift the car drives as unproblematic as a modern roadster.

All described conversion parts were newly installed in 2017/2018. The Fzg. has his retread about 3000 km mileage.
Fzg. is rebuilt with major assemblies such as engine, transmission, brakes u. Chassis and thus has considerable additional power, which is not fully registered! We ask for special attention to this note and refer to the conversion measures before possible inspection!

 

Email request

Subject: Request for "Austin Healey 100/6 with 289 c.i. Ford V8 Performance Engine//5-Speed Gearbox"
Name
Surname
Phone
Email
Message
?
Please accept our privacy policy
Send code
Send code
Top

Druckformat

Austin Healey 100|6 // mit 289er V8-Ford Motor // 5-Gang // Einzelstück

Hätte Carroll Shelby auf der Suche nach einem leichten, englischen Chassis für die Umsetzung seiner Idee, einen mächtigen V8-Motor in eben dieses zu pflanzen, nicht auch auf einen Austin Healey kommen können? Wer das Buch „Inside Shelby“ oder die Lektüre „Nasty Boys“ gelesen hat, braucht kaum seine Phantasie zu strapazieren. Hätte sich der damalige Verkaufsschlager Austin Healey oder der frisch auf den Markt gekommene MGB nicht in den USA verkauft wie warme Brötchen, hätte Shelby nicht sehr spezielle Einkaufs-Konditionen beim angeschlagenen Hersteller AC ausgehandelt und damit das rolling chassis des AC Ace gewählt, hätte heute – 58 Jahre nach Vorstellung der ersten AC Cobra 289 und der damit verbundenen Legendenbildung dieses wohl einmaligen Automobils – die landläufige „Cobra“ vielleicht ganz anders ausgesehen? Vielleicht sogar so oder so ähnlich wie dieser Austin Healey, den wir Ihnen hier präsentieren.

Motor
E-Street Cylinder Heads, Flat Tappet Performer Plus Camshaft Kit, Hardened Pushrods, Performer-Link Timing Set, Head Bolt Kit, Double Camshaft Driving Train, Edelbrock Performer Vergaser 4 Fach mit E Joke, Performer Luftfilter, Kontaktlose Zündanlage mit Racingkerzen und High End Zündkabeln, Zündspule Master Blaster 2, Alu-Ventildeckel für einstellbare Pushrods, Racing Thermostat, Hochleistungskühler aus Aluminium. Lichtmaschine mit höherer Leistung, angepaßte Elektrik mit Spal E-Lüfter automatisch und manuell. Geänderter und angepaßter Auspuff mit Fächerkrümmern auf Maß und Edelstahltöpfen Big Bore re/li. Die Leistung wird mit 321 PS angegeben, die wir dem Wagen ungeprüft abnehmen. Hubraum, Fahrwerk, Umbau, Vmax usw. sind TÜV-abgenommen.
Die offizielle Leistungsangabe ist 224 PS.
Getriebe
Borg Warner T5 5 Gang Schaltgetriebe mit hydraulischer Kupplung und spezieller Glocke. Einzelbehälter für hydraulische Kupplung. Geänderte kurze Übersetzung max. Geschwindigkeit 195km/h aber dadurch extrem gute Beschleunigung. Das Getriebe ist mit Hochleistungsöl befüllt und ist somit auch für größere Leistung ausgelegt. Komplette Überholung in 12/2018
Fahrwerk
Komplett Umbau auf Bilstein Teleskopdämpfer (Putzke ́s Fahrspaß)hinten mit Racingfedern von Denis Welsh mit zusätzlichen Längsstreben und Unibal-Gelenken zusätzlicher Stabi mit geänderten Buchsen. Vorne großer, verstellbarer Stabi mit Racingfedern 180Kg, Tieferlegung.
Bremsen
Einzelbehälter für Bremskreislauf mit Bremskraftverstärker, vorne Scheibenbremsen mit Pagid Bremsbelägen und Stahlflexleitungen, hinten Alu-Bremstrommeln mit Kühlrippen und Stahlflexleitungen, Bremskraftregelventil im Motorraum. Rennbremsflüssigkeit.
Felgen und Reifen
Speichenfelgen 5.5 X 15 schwarz verchromt mit 205/65 R15 H und Zentralverschluß Ersatzrad im Kofferraum.
Tank
Denis Welsh Racing Tank Works 80/85 Liter mit passender Anzeige und Reservewarnung. Verbesserte Reichweite gegenüber dem 50Liter original Tank, kein Mehrverbrauch gegenüber dem Reihensechszylinder.
Doppelte Benzinpumpen einzeln schaltbar mit Rücklaufsicherung und Dash Anschlüssen.
Der Tank besitzt zwei Entnahmen und einen eingebauten Catchtank alles aus Aluminium. Kofferraum komplett in Alu ausgekleidet mit verbauten Notaus.
Karosserie:
Komplett überholt mit den benötigten Änderungen durch den Motorumbau, Rahmen über Jahre mit Mike Sanders behandelt und im sehr guten Zustand. Neulackierung und Teilrestaurierung im Oldtimer Fachbetrieb mit vielen Neuteilen und Verbesserungen. Überholte und verbesserte Elektrik. Steckscheiben und Verdeck in schwarz.
Gesamtergebnis:
Ein wahrscheinlich einmaliger Austin Healey in originaler und unverwechselbarer Optik, der durch sinnvolle Änderungen seiner Vorlage um Lichtjahre besser zu fahren ist als das Serien-Modell 100/6. Für jemanden, der einen einzigartigen Big Healey fahren möchte mit perfekter Optik, mit überzeugenden Fahrleistungen und dem unverwechselbaren Sound eines sportlichen V8, ist dieser Healey wahrscheinlich ein selten zutreffender Glücksfall, überhaupt verfügbar zu sein.
Übrigens ist dieses Fahrzeug auch für Frauen kein Problem!
Durch die überholte Lenkung den Bremskraftverstärker und die kurze Schaltung fährt das Fahrzeug so unproblematisch wie ein moderner Roadster.

  • Alle beschriebenen Umbauteile wurden in 2017/2018 neu verbaut. Das Fzg. hat seiner Runderneuerung ca. 3000 km Laufleistung.
  • Fzg. ist mit wesentlichen Baugruppen wie Motor, Getriebe, Bremsen u. Fahrwerk umgerüstet und hat dadurch erhebliche Mehrleistung, die nicht vollständig eingetragen ist! Wir bitten um besondere Beachtung zu diesem Hinweis und verweisen zu den Umbaumaßnahmen vor eventueller Besichtigung!
  • Die Informationen im Inserat dienen der allgemeinen Identifizierung des Fahrzeuges und stellen keine Gewährleistung im kaufrechtlichen Sinne dar. Die Angaben erheben nicht den Anspruch auf Vollständigkeit. Irrtümer, Änderungen & Zwischenverkauf vorbehalten.

Stay tuned!

Ihr DLS Team

Emailanfrage

Betreff: Anfrage zu "Austin Healey 100|6 // mit 289er V8-Ford Motor // 5-Gang // Einzelstück"
Name
Nachname
Telefon
Email
Nachricht
?
Bitte akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzbestimmungen
Absendecode
Absendecode
Top