Print Exposé

Lancia Fulvia Coupé 1.6 HF “Fanalone”, matching unrestored car in excellent condition

Co-driver Mario Mannucci shouts “right two, left full, …” while Sandro Munari nimbly changes gears, clutches and brakes, simultaneously accelerating and forcing the Fulvia around the next corner.

Of course we are miles away from the talent of a Munari and nobody has settled down in the passenger seat. Nevertheless, every drive in the Lancia Fulvia 1600 HF feels like a rally special stage, not least because of the screaming engine and the close interaction of car and road.
It is definitely a hell of a lot of fun to chase the modified Fulvia through serpentines and narrow country roads. Gears can be changed in a flash via the five-speed gearbox, the needle of the rev counter twitches nimbly upwards.

The engine seems to hang on the accelerator, immediately converting every movement of the foot into acceleration. The front sluices open and the two Dellorto carburettors slurp cool, clear air so greedily that one can hardly get enough of the trumpet do in front. Modified almost 140 hp from 1.6 litre cubic capacity have an effect on 800 kg vehicle weight. There is no stopping!

THE LAST LINK IN A LONG CHAIN

When Lancia introduced the Fulvia limousine in 1963, the focus was simultaneously on tradition and innovation. The engine, shaped by the ideas of Professor Dottore Engineer Antonio Fessia, was the heart of the car. Similar to Lambda, Aprilia, Ardea and Appia, the Fulvia also had a V4 engine with a very small angle, namely 13 degrees. The valves, suspended in a 60-degree arrangement, were controlled by two overhead camshafts driven by chains. The cylinder head and crankshaft housing were made of light alloy.

This modern engine was mounted on a subframe in the self-supporting body, tilting 45 degrees to the left and six degrees backwards. The design resulted in a significant head-heaviness (65 percent of the weight rested on the front axle), which was well suited to a front-wheel drive car and correlated well with the suspension concepts – independent suspension with wishbones and transverse leaf springs at the front, rigid axle with leaf springs and Panhard rod at the rear. Braking was done with four disc brakes, which further underlined the sporting talents.

THE PRETTY COUPÉ OVERTAKES THE SALOON

Two years after the four-door saloon, the coupé with a shortened wheelbase drawn by Lancia chief designer Pietro Castagnero was unveiled at the 1965 Geneva Motor Show. With its low waistline, large window area and simple, elegant lines, it was a perfect match for contemporary taste.

Initially, the 1216 cm3 engine version in the Coupé produced 80 hp, which, thanks to good aerodynamics (cw 0.39), was sufficient for around 160 km/h.

Gradually, performance was upgraded and weight was optimized. The Rallye 1.3 S weighed only 925 kg instead of the 960 kg of the “normal” coupé, the 1.2 HF produced 88 hp from 1966 and the 1.3 HF 101 hp from 1968.
At the end of 1968, the 1.6 HF model was presented at the Turin Motor Show with the engine of type 540, which stood out from the other variants by yellow valve covers. This version was closely related to the factory rally cars of the Lancia sports group.

ENTHUSIASTIC PAUL FRÈRE

In the first months of 1969, the well-known racing driver and car journalist Paul Frère was given the opportunity to test one of the Lancia factory cars on normal roads for Auto Motor und Sport. The Belgian covered a thousand “lively” kilometres and could hardly find a hair in the Lancia soup.

The approximately 135 HP strong works car, which was based on the 1600 HF just announced at that time, accelerated from 0 to 100 km/h in 9.5 seconds and reached a top speed of 193.5 km/h with the long gear ratio. The tested car weighed 850 kg and was additionally lighter than the planned road vehicles (Plexiglas windows, no insulation, no carpets). However, part of the weight reduction was compensated by the tank, which was enlarged to 90 litres, and by the roll bar.

The sporty driving style resulted in an average consumption of just over 16.5 litres of premium petrol, which flowed through the two Solex C 45 DDHS twin carburettors. Frère described the car as very agile and extraordinarily good-natured, the handling was convincing due to its neutrality, but could be modulated with the throttle foot in under- or oversteer.

According to the test notes, the smooth steering and the pleasant suspension, which normal Fulvia models had, fell by the wayside, but in a competition car the direct but power-sapping steering and the hard suspension characteristics were easy to live with.

IN TWO VERSIONS

The HF was available in two versions, as a road vehicle with 114 hp at 6’200 rpm or as a performance-enhanced version with slightly more than 130 hp, which resulted in a performance similar to that of the works car. Common to all HF models built between 1969 and 1970 was the five-speed gearbox, the negative steering roll radius on the front axle and the mounted fender extensions which made room for the six-inch wide wheels.

The most important distinguishing feature, however, were the large internal main headlights which, according to Paul Frère, together with the other two, literally turned night into day, often to the annoyance of oncoming traffic. These large lights were also responsible for the nickname “Fanalone”.
There were different gear ratios and all kinds of accessories ex works, so that even private drivers could have a powerful piece of sports equipment at their disposal.

A total of 1278 units of the HF with 1.6-litre engine were built as part of the first series, today they are the most sought-after Fulvias at all. One reason for the not too large distribution is probably the not insignificant price, which for example in Switzerland was 18’350 Swiss Francs, much more than BMW charged for a 2002 ti or Opel for the GT 1900.

WEIGHT GAIN

From 1970 onwards the 1600 HF was also sold in the model-maintained second edition and thus became considerably more corpulent. The car gained a whole 100 kg, because the weight-reducing measures were omitted. There was even a “Lusso” version with standard bumpers and comfort extras. The Fulvia HF of the second series was only partly suitable as a sports car, but of course it was possible to optimise it afterwards. On the positive side, however, the standard five-speed gearbox was also available, which now also had a synchronised first gear.
But the large central headlights and the fender extensions had disappeared. With 10.9 seconds for the sprint from 0 to 100 km/h, the Fulvia 1.6 HF was still convincing in the test of the magazine Auto Motor und Sport in 1971, with the top speed of 173.9 km/h less. Despite or perhaps because of the comfort orientation the second HF series sold better with 3690 units.

SUCCESSFULL IN RALLIES AND ROAD RACING

Between 1966 and 1974 the Lancia factory racing team used the Fulvia mainly in rallies. In 1972 the Rallye Brand World Championship was won, not least thanks to the victory in the Rallye Monte Carlo by Sandro Munari. But the Fulvia was not only successful on rally tracks, but in the hands of many private drivers also on circuits and in hill climbs.
And in accordance with these talents, the HF version of the Lancia Fulvia is also used today in historic racing.

As you could already read above, the HF was available in two versions, as a road vehicle with 114 hp at 6’200 rpm or as a performance-enhanced version with just over 130 hp, which resulted in similar performance to the works car. Common to all HF models built between 1969 and 1970 was the five-speed gearbox, the negative steering roll radius on the front axle and the mounted fender extensions which made room for the six inch wide wheels.

A few words about our “Fanalone”:

This is exactly the kind of road-going sports version of the Fanalone. He spent the first 50 years of his life in salt-free Italy and in the hands of a lancista who understood his craft. Not only the driving, but especially the entire handling of the Fulvia testifies to extremely loving use and always timely maintenance. Not only when Rome was burning, but obviously preventively, before a defect was present. The “Fanalone” has “matching numbers” and was delivered exactly in this configuration. Its aluminium parts such as hoods and doors are numbered consecutively and fit as well. Let us guess – the vast majority of these highly praised and sought-after street sport models no longer exist. Mostly the models you see by chance are well-behaved 1300s, which can make a similarly spectacular figure with little effort…but just underneath are more or less well-behaved mass-produced models.

Then come and visit us from time to time and start this Fulvia with us. After the first gas blast in warm condition and the choke-free out-of-round running in the idle speed you know where the frog is wearing the curls…

That’s the sound of engine works of art.

With great pleasure presented by your
DLS team

 

Email request

Subject: Request for "Lancia Fulvia Coupé 1.6 HF “Fanalone”, matching unrestored car in excellent condition"
Name
Surname
Phone
Email
Message
?
Please accept our privacy policy
Send code
Send code
Top

Druckformat

Lancia Fulvia Coupé 1.6 HF // „Fanalone“ // Original // Matching Numbers

Beifahrer Mario Mannucci schreit “rechts zwei, links voll, …”, während Sandro Munari behende die Gänge wechselt, kuppelt und bremst, gleichzeitig Gas gibt und die Fulvia um die nächste Kurve zwingt.

 Vom Talent eines Munari sind wir natürlich meilenweit entfernt und auf dem Beifahrersitz hat sich niemand eingerichtet. Trotzdem fühlt sich jede Fahrt im Lancia Fulvia 1600 HF wie eine Rallye-Sonderprüfung an, das liegt nicht zuletzt am schreienden Motor und an der engen Verzahnung von Auto und Strasse.

Es macht auf jeden Fall einen Höllenspass, die modifizierte Fulvia durch Serpentinen und enge Landsträsschen zu jagen. Die Gänge können über das Fünfganggetriebe blitzschnell gewechselt werden, die Nadel des Drehzahlmessers zuckt behände nach oben.

Der Motor scheint regelrecht am Gaspedal zu hängen, setzt jede Bewegung der Fussspitze sofort in Beschleunigungsvorgänge um. Dabei öffnen sich vorne die Schleusen und die beiden Dellorto-Vergaser schlürfen derart gierig am liebsten kühle, klare Luft, daß man kaum genug von dem Trompeten do vorne kriegen kann. Modifizierte knapp 140 PS aus 1,6 Litern Hubraum wirken auf 800 kg Fahrzeuggewicht ein. Es gibt kein Halten mehr!

Das letzte Glied in einer langen Kette

Als Lancia 1963 die Fulvia-Limousine vorstellte, setzte man gleichzeitig auf Tradition und Innovation. Der Motor, geprägt von den Ideen des Professore Dottore Ingeniere Antonio Fessia, war das Herzstück. Ähnlich wie Lambda, Aprilia, Ardea und Appia wies auch die Fulvia einen V4-Motor mit sehr kleinem Winkel, nämlich 13 Grad, auf. Die in 60-Grad-Anordnung hängenden Ventile wurden durch zwei obenliegende über Ketten angetriebene Nockenwellen gesteuert. Zylinderkopf und Kurbelwellengehäuse bestanden aus Leichtmetall.

Dieser moderne Motor wurde auf einem Hilfsrahmen in die selbsttragende Karosserie montiert, wobei er dabei um 45 Grad nach links und sechs Grad nach hinten geneigt wurde. Aus der Bauweise ergab sich eine deutliche Kopflastigkeit (65 Prozent des Gewichts ruhte auf der Vorderachse), die einem Fronttriebler gut anstand und mit den Aufhängungskonzepten – Einzelradaufhängungen mit Dreieckslenkern und Querblattfeder vorne, Starrachse mit Blattfedern und Panhardstab hinten – gut korrelierte. Gebremst wurde mit vier Scheibenbremsen, was die sportlichen Talente noch weiter unterstrich.

Das hübsche Coupé überholt die Limousine

Zwei Jahre nach der viertürigen Limousine wurde das durch Lancia-Chefdesigner Pietro Castagnero gezeichnete Coupé mit verkürztem Radstand am Genfer Autosalon von 1965 vorgestellt. Es traf den Zeitgeschmack mit seiner tiefen Gürtellinie, der grossen Fensterfläche und den schlichten, eleganten Linien perfekt.

Anfänglich leistete die 1216 cm3 grosse Motorversion im Coupé 80 PS, was dank guter Aerodynamik (cw 0,39) für rund 160 km/h reichte.

Nach und nach wurde leistungsmässig aufgerüstet und gewichtsmässig optimiert. Der Rallye 1,3 S wog nur noch 925 statt der 960 kg des “normalen” Coupés, der 1,2 HF leistete ab 1966 88 PS, der 1,3 HF ab 1968 101 PS.

Ende 1968 wurde auf dem Turiner Automobilsalon das Modell 1,6 HF mit dem Motor vom Typ 540, der sich durch gelbe Ventildeckel von den anderen Varianten abhob, vorgestellt. Diese Version war eng mit den Werks-Rallyeautos der Lancia-Sportgruppe verwandt.

Begeisterter Paul Frère

Der bekannte Rennfahrer und Auto-Journalist Paul Frère erhielt in den ersten Monaten des Jahres 1969 die Gelegenheit, für Auto Motor und Sport einen der Lancia-Werkswagen auf normalen Strassen zu testen. Tausend “muntere” Kilometer legte der Belgier zurück und konnte kaum ein Haar in der Lancia-Suppe finden.

Der rund 135 PS starke Werkswagen, der auf dem damals gerade angekündigten 1600 HF basierte, beschleunigte in 9,5 Sekunden von 0 auf 100 km/h und erreichte eine Höchstgeschwindigkeit von 193,5 km/h mit der langen Übersetzung. 850 kg schwer war der geprüfte und gegenüber den geplanten Strassenfahrzeugen zusätzlich erleichterte Wagen (Plexiglasscheiben, keine Isolation, keine Teppiche). Ein Teil der Gewichtseinsparungen wurde allerdings vom auf 90 Liter vergrösserten Tank und durch den Überrollbügel kompensiert.

Die sportliche Fahrweise resultierte in einem Durchschnittsverbrauch von knapp über 16,5 Liter Superbenzin, das durch die beiden Doppelvergaser vom Typ Solex C 45 DDHS floss. Frère beschrieb den Wagen als sehr agil und ausserordentlich gutmütig, das Fahrverhalten überzeugte durch Neutralität, konnte aber mit dem Gasfuss in Unter- oder Übersteuern moduliert werden.

Während gemäss Testnotizen die leichtgängige Lenkung und die angenehme Federung, über die normale Fulvia-Modelle verfügten, auf der Strecke blieben, liess sich in einem Wettbewerbswagen gut mit der direkt ausgelegten aber kraftraubenden Lenkung und der harten Aufhängungscharakteristik leben.

In zwei Versionen

Den HF gab es in zwei Varianten, als Strassenfahrzeug mit 114 PS bei 6’200 U/Min oder als leistungsgesteigerte Version mit etwas über 130 PS, was zu ähnlichen Fahrleistungen wie den Werkswagen führte. Gemeinsam war allen HF-Modellen, die zwischen 1969 und 1970 gebaut wurden, das Fünfganggetriebe, der negative Lenkrollradius an der Vorderachse und die aufgesetzten Kotflügelverbreiterungen, die Platz für die sechs Zoll breiten Räder schafften.

Das wichtigste Erkennungsmerkmal aber waren die grossen inneren Hauptscheinwerfer, die gemäss Paul Frère zusammen mit den beiden anderen die Nacht im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes zum Tage machten, oft auch zum Verdruss des Gegenverkehrs. Diese grossen Lampen waren auch verantwortlich für den Beinamen “Fanalone”.

Ab Werk gab es unterschiedliche Übersetzungen und allerlei Zubehör, so dass auch Privatfahrer über ein starkes Sportgerät verfügen konnten.

Ganze 1278 Exemplare des HF mit 1,6-Liter-Motor wurden im Rahmen der ersten Serie gebaut, sie sind heute die gesuchtesten Fulvias überhaupt. Ein Grund für die nicht allzugrosse Verbreitung dürfte sicher auch der nicht unerhebliche Preis, der zum Beispiel in der Schweiz 18’350 Franken betrug, deutlich mehr als das, was BMW für einen 2002 ti oder Opel für den GT 1900 verlangte.

Gewichtszunahme

Ab 1970 wurde auch der 1600 HF in der modellgepflegten zweiten Auflage verkauft und wurde damit erheblich korpulenter. Ganze 100 kg legte der Wagen zu, weil die gewichtserleichternden Massnahmen wegfielen. Es gab sogar eine “Lusso”-Variante mit serienmässigen Stosstangen und Komfortextras. Als Sportgerät taugte die Fulvia HF der zweiten Serie nur noch bedingt, aber man konnte natürlich nachträglich optimieren. Positiv durfte aber das serienmässige Fünfganggetriebe vermerkt werden, das nun auch über einen synchronisierten ersten Gang verfügte.

Verschwunden waren aber die grossen Mittelscheinwerfer und auch die Kotflügelverbreiterungen. Mit 10,9 Sekunden für den Sprint von 0 auf 100 km/h mochte die Fulvia 1,6 HF beim Test der Zeitschrift Auto Motor und Sport im Jahr 1971 noch zu überzeugen, mit der Höchstgeschwindigkeit von 173,9 km/h weniger. Trotz oder vielleicht gerade wegen der Komfortorientierung verkaufte sich die zweite HF-Serie mit 3690 Exemplaren besser.

Erfolgreich in Rallyes und im Strassenrennsport

Zwischen 1966 und 1974 setzte das Lancia-Werksrennteam die Fulvia vor allem in Rallyes ein. 1972 konnte die Rallye-Markenweltmeisterschaft gewonnen werden, nicht zuletzt dank des Sieges bei der Rallye Monte Carlo durch Sandro Munari. Doch nicht nur auf Rallye-Pfaden war die Fulvia erfolgreich, sondern in der Hand vieler Privatfahrer auch auf Rundstrecken und bei Bergrennen.

Und entsprechend diesen Begabungen wird die HF-Version des Lancia Fulvia heute auch gerne im historischen Rennsport eingesetzt.

Wie Sie bereits weiter oben lesen konnten, gab es den HF gab es in zwei Varianten, als Strassenfahrzeug mit 114 PS bei 6’200 U/Min oder als leistungsgesteigerte Version mit etwas über 130 PS, was zu ähnlichen Fahrleistungen wie den Werkswagen führte. Gemeinsam war allen HF-Modellen, die zwischen 1969 und 1970 gebaut wurden, das Fünfganggetriebe, der negative Lenkrollradius an der Vorderachse und die aufgesetzten Kotflügelverbreiterungen, die Platz für die sechs Zoll breiten Räder schafften.

Ein paar Worte zu unserem „Fanalone“:

Genau um diese Straßen – Sportversion handelt es sich bei dem angebotenen Fanalone. Er verbrachte die ersten 50 Jahre seines Lebens im salzfreien Italien und in den Händen eines Lancista, der sein Handwerk verstand. Nicht nur das Fahren, sondern insbesondere der gesamte Umgang mit der Fulvia zeugt von äußerst liebevoller Nutzung und immer rechtzeitiger Wartung. Nicht erst, wenn Rom brannte, sondern offenbar präventiv, bevor ein Defekt vorlag. Der „Fanalone“ hat „matching numbers“ und wurde exakt in dieser Konfiguration ausgeliefert. Seine Aluminium-Teile wie Hauben und Türen sind durchnumeriert und passen ebenfalls. Lassen Sie uns raten – die weit überwiegende Anzahl dieser hochgelobten und gesuchten Straßensport-Modelle existiert nicht mehr. Meist sind die Modelle, die Sie zufällig sehen, brave 1300er, die mit wenig Aufwand eine ähnlich spektakuläre Figur machen können….aber eben darunter mehr oder weniger brave Großserie tragen.

Dann kommen Sie uns doch mal bei Gelegenheit besuchen, und starten Sie diese Fulvia einfach mal bei uns. Nach dem ersten Gasstoß im warmen Zustand und dem chokefreien Unrundlauf im Standgas wissen Sie, wo der Frosch die Locken trägt…

So hören sich Motoren-Kunstwerke an.

Mit großer Freude präsentiert von Ihrem
DLS Team

Emailanfrage

Betreff: Anfrage zu "Lancia Fulvia Coupé 1.6 HF // „Fanalone“ // Original // Matching Numbers"
Name
Nachname
Telefon
Email
Nachricht
?
Bitte akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzbestimmungen
Absendecode
Absendecode
Top